Environmental Certifications for Printers

Currently there are three globally recognized Chain-of-Custody certification programs for paper - SFI, FSC and PEFC.

Below is a list of definitions that will help you to understand how sustainability, chain-of-custody and other environmental certifications work together to deliver products that promote environmental stewardship.


  • Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) -  This designation certifies that wood products have come from "well-managed" forests adhering to strict environmental and socioeconomic standards.
  • Sustainable Forest Initiative (SFI) - This program is based on nine principles that address economic, environmental, cultural and legal issues, in addition to a commitment to continuously improve sustainable forest management.
  • Programme for Endorsement of Forest Certification (PEFC) -  A global organization, PEFC assesses national forest certification schemes developed in a multi-stakeholder process. These national schemes build upon the inter-governmental processes for the promotion of sustainable forest management. They encompass a series of ongoing mechanisms which 149 world government support and which cover 85 percent of the earth's forestlands.




This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


2610 Downfield Road

Suite 101,

Powhatan, VA 23139

office: (804) 598-9373

fax: (804) 884-3744

©2019 Independent Printers Worldwide, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

FacebookTwitterLinkedinRSS Feed